Tuition is charged by credit hour and rates vary for in-state and out-of-state tuition. Tuition rates are set by state policy and are subject to change without notice. For information on current tuition rates, please contact the Student Services Division. Fees are due and payable prior to the students entering the first scheduled class. The Registration Receipt Form that is validated by the Business Office upon collection of tuition and fees at registration will be required to enter any class.
Students are required to provide or purchase their own textbooks. The College operates a bookstore located on the first floor of the Warren Student Center (near the Student Lounge), which stocks necessary books and materials for the courses currently offered by the College. The cost of books and other items varies with the program of instruction.
Special Supplies & Uniform Costs
Students in some curricula are required to purchase special supplies or clothing. Students should consult with their department chair for special supplies required in their curriculum. Example of charges:
Cosmetology Kits/Smocks – $750 (estimated)
Nursing Uniforms/Nursing Kit (supplies required for lab) – $200.00 (estimated)
Each student enrolled for twelve semester hours or more (full-time) will pay $16.00 per semester for a student activity fee. This fee is for the cost of student publications, social events, and other activities. This fee is refundable if the conditions for tuition refund apply. A $5.00 Special Fee will be charged for fall, spring, and summer semesters. Students will pay activity fees according to Tuition & Fees Chart.
Each student enrolled for twelve semester hours or more (full-time) will pay $16.00 per semester technology fee. Part-time students will pay technology fees in accordance with the current Tuition & Fees Chart. Fees may be changed by the action of the Board of Trustees. The maximum technology fee is set by state policy and is subject to change without notice.
A student accident insurance policy designed for the students of the North Carolina Community College System is required for all curriculum students at a nominal cost per semester. For information concerning coverage and benefits, contact the Business Office. A copy of the insurance plan is distributed to each student at registration. Nursing students are required to purchase professional liability insurance at an approximate cost of $20.00 per year
Parking Fee & Fines
All students who operate motor vehicles on campus must register their vehicle(s) with the Security Officer. The College enforces parking regulations. Violations of the parking and registration regulations will result in fines, towing, or loss of parking privileges. A $5.00 parking fee is charged each semester to curriculum students. Fees may be changed by action of the Board of Trustees. Parking fines will be assessed at $25.00 for each parking ticket.
Breakage, damage, or loss due to negligence, carelessness, or other mishandling of school supplies, materials, or equipment by a student is the responsibility of the student. The student will be required to pay for such items.
Payment of Tuition & Fees
The North Carolina Community College System has established the following policies:
- Tuition and fees for each semester are payable on the date of registration.
- A student who has an outstanding balance is not eligible for registration. This includes any outstanding balance at another institution of the North Carolina Community College System.
- No student will be allowed to graduate, receive a diploma or certificate, or a transcript of his or her record, nor will any information concerning his or her record be forwarded to another institution or other person so long as the delinquent account is outstanding.